In the world of Modern Warfare 2, there are some simple things that are often overlooked by the average. In this case I am referring to the weapon attachment that is the silencer, also known as the suppresor. Many people are aware of this attachment’s ability, but I feel that not everyone is aware of the awesomeness that can occur when using it.

For those that don’t know, the silencer is capable of the following:

  • Reducing the amount of muzzle flash that is emitted from a fired weapon.
  • Keeping player’s from appearing as a red dot on enemy mini maps when a weapon is fired.
  • Reducing the damage output and range on certain weapons (Shotguns and Snipers are most effected by this)

If used to the full extent of its prowess, the silencer can be used to provide the user with total stealth-like combat, thus making it very difficult for enemy’s to find you. I must admit though, one thing that I do not understand about the Silencer is why Infinity Ward would allow players to put a Silencer on a Shotgun? I mean on paper this may sound like a good idea, but in reality, this just seems kind of stupid to me. However, I guess this explains why many people don’t use this combo; that and they are too busy using akimbo weapons.

And Big Ups to Manny Gonzalez for lovin’ the silencer and introducing me to its greatness!

